Sign In Forgot Password

OUR HISTORY

Initially called the Harford Hebrew Congregation, our synagogue was founded in February 1955. In November 1955, we purchased our first building from the American Legion at Forest Green and officially changed our name to the Harford Jewish Center. In March of 1957, we hired a rabbi for the weekends, and by October of the same year, we acquired our first Torahs and eternal light.

Temple Adas Shalom (Congregation of Peace), was dedicated on September 15, 1968, as the first synagogue in Harford County history. Temple Adas Shalom is a living monument to the sacrifice and commitment of the members who worked so diligently to achieve the realization of a dream of many families.  These founding families worked so long and industriously to see the culmination of their dream of a Jewish center in Harford County finally come to fruition.

Our religious, educational and social complex is situated on high ground at the intersection of Route 155 and Earlton Road, Extension in Havre de Grace, Maryland. It overlooks the serene countryside and is centrally located between Harford and Cecil Counties to serve the Jewish community throughout all of Northeast Maryland.
 

JEWISH LEARNING

Our educational programs are first-class, with an early learning center onsite, one of the finest fully inclusive religious schools in our city, and a robust adult education program. Our goal is to provide for a lifetime of Jewish learning.
 

PRAYER & WORSHIP

We offer a dynamic blend of worship opportunities that from family friendly Shabbat to traditional Torah Services. Our main sanctuary, constructed in 1956 and in 2019 we completed an extensive renovation to expand our building. We updated our sanctuary to be a light and airy place for worship that provides a truly awe-inspiring space in which to practice Jewish ritual life.


Now, as always, Temple Adas Shalom is your home.

Sun, September 25 2022 29 Elul 5782